Video: Fighting Colonialism With A Colonized Tongue

Behind My Painted Smile – Akala ft. Lowkey

The lyrics:

[Verse 1: Akala]
Behind my painted smile whern all the revolutionary noise is nothing but a lost little boy
Confused and insecure, arrogant and oversure
Egotistical prick’s so come on please praise me more
It’s great that my music bettered you but I contemplate murder every day so don’t put me on a pedestal
Blast truly it’s the vehicle the music just run’s through me
In my better moments I could let the universe use me

[Lowkey]
Behind my smile there’s generations of pain, self-hatred, ingrained miseducating my brain
Decimated the place where my dead relations where slain
Not just physically but mentally penetrated our veins
What you got inside hasn’t gotta die once it can die a lot of time’s, that I promise my son
Analyze every song that I’ve done – tryna fight colonialism with a colonised tounge

[Hook]
Here I stand again
Living in sin
Caught up,In the dream
Behind the painted smile

[Akala Verse:2]
Behind my painted smile is the most painful grimace
The mental prison I live in cause I am so conditioned
By my privilege, what a strange contradiction
To grow up brown in britain and know that your living was paid for by a carcass that resembles yours
Born in the heart of the empire
You’re worth more than I was just like you
But less then the native one’s, raised by my mum but in this world I am a father’s son

[Lowkey]
Behind my painted smile, a very flawed human being
Done many things that I regret and never knew the reason
What do you believe in, truth or freedom or are you deceiving?
I don’t wanna die in frustration to European’s
They say the answer is within you and nowhere else
Understand the vision man on a mission to know himself
This is for my co-defendant’s no retreat and no surrender
You probably think that we don’t remember,Ota Benga

[Hook]

[Akala verse:3]
The smile is painted on my face is tainted by a frown
Picture in the pocket’s of blood that decorate the town
Trigger jum bullets sung and gun’s hum
Then everyone that’s dead was somebody’s someone

[Lowkey]
Behind my painted smile I feel like a naked child
Maybe rapping ain’t for now? Cos my passion’s bathing out
Up early though I search and roam along this dirty road
Just another traveler taking a long journey home

[Akala]
All this talk of intervention to protect on what is the intention
Same as it ever was the colonial past and present
And more respect for most of the right winger’s
Than the paternalistic patronizing little bigot

[Lowkey]
Our way of life is so divine, we should intervene
Select war and export the British dream
Behind cinema screen’s there’s much that isn’t seen
George Clooney war movies never bring my children peace

[Akala]
Yo fam,you ever wake up and just feel like fucking off, and never comming back to this place and just shutting off

[Lowkey]
All the time, almost did last year the trouble was the bleddy cop’s had me running in and out the bleddy dock

[Akala]
I been there brother though I don’t promote it in this rapshit,I ain’t a stranger to having my back on every plastic

[Lowkey]
Can’t keep us captive

[Akala]
See the tactic’s

[Lowkey]
To keep us passive

[Akala]
We beat the facists

[Lowkey]
Release the classic’s

[Akala & Lowkey]
And reach the masses!

[Hook]x2

Emphasis (bolded words) added.

Source link for lyrics

Leave a Reply

